Are Social Bots and Fake News threatening our democracy? The Propstop-Team provides research on the dangers of misinformation in the newest POLITIKUM edition.

The POLITIKUM edition ‘smart democracy’ discusses democracy in the times of digitalization – supported by the Propstop-Team members Prof. Dr. Thorsten Quandt, Dr. Lena Frischlich, Tim Schatto-Eckrodt and Svenja Boberg. The article focuses on the question of how great the threat of social bots and fake news really is. The researchers noted that the perceived…

Continue Reading

Prof. Dr. Quandt in an interview with a Swiss newspaper talking about the employment of bots in elections.

Prof. Dr. Quandt was interviewed by Simone Luchetta for the Swiss newspaper “Tages-Anzeiger” as an expert on social networks. During the interview Prof.Dr. Quandt stressed, that the employment of Russian bots in the last German election was not as extensive as expected. Instead his most recent studies showed, that especially right-wing groups used social networks…

Continue Reading

Do Bots, Trolls and Fakes influence our political opinion? Panel-Discussion with Lena Frischlich

The Landeszentrale für politische Bildung in cooperation with Transparency International held a Panel-Discussion on Monday evening, November 27, 2017 on the topic of „opinions. media. manipulation.“ as part of the „Anti-Corruption-Day“. In a time where social bots and „fake news“ and their influence on political elections are frequently discussed, this evening focused on the question: Is…

Continue Reading

Bedrohen Social Bots und Fake News die Demokratie? Das Propstop-Team informiert in der neusten POLITIKUM-Ausgabe über die Gefahren von Desinformation.

In der POLITIKUM- Ausgabe „Smart Democracy“ wird ein Überblick über Demokratie in Zeiten der Digitalisierung gegeben – Unterstützung erhielt sie dabei durch Prof. Dr. Thorsten Quandt, Dr. Lena Frischlich, Tim Schatto-Eckrodt und Svenja Boberg aus dem Propstop-Team. Im Zentrum des Artikels steht die Frage wie groß die Bedrohung, welche von Social Bots und Fake News…

Weiterlesen

Prof. Dr. Quandt im Interview mit Schweizer Zeitung über den Einsatz von Bots bei Wahlen.

Professor Dr. Quandt wurde von Simone Luchetta für die Schweizer Tageszeitung „Tages-Anzeiger“ als Experte für soziale Netzwerke befragt. Im Interview hebt Prof. Dr. Quandt hervor, dass der Einsatz von russischen Bots bei den deutschen Wahlen nicht so großflächig war wie befürchtet, stattdessen zeige seine aktuelle Forschung, dass vor allem rechte Gruppierungen die sozialen Netzwerke nutzen,…

Weiterlesen

Steuern Bots, Trolle und Fakes unsere politische Meinungsbildung? Panel-Diskussion mit Lena Frischlich

Im Rahmen des „Antikorruptionstages“ veranstaltete die Landeszentrale für politische Bildung gemeinsam mit Transparency International am Montagabend, dem 27.November 2017, eine Panel- Diskussion zum Thema „Meinungen. Medien. Manipulationen“. In einer Zeit wo Social Bots und „Fake News“ zum Alltag gehören und ihr Einfluss auf politische Wahlen anhaltend diskutiert wird, stand dieser Abend unter der Frage: Haben wir…

Weiterlesen