Are Social Bots and Fake News threatening our democracy? The Propstop-Team provides research on the dangers of misinformation in the newest POLITIKUM edition.

The POLITIKUM edition ‘smart democracy’ discusses democracy in the times of digitalization – supported by the Propstop-Team members Prof. Dr. Thorsten Quandt, Dr. Lena Frischlich, Tim Schatto-Eckrodt and Svenja Boberg. The article focuses on the question of how great the threat of social bots and fake news really is. The researchers noted that the perceived…

Continue Reading

High-level conference on “Election Interference in the Digital Age: Building Resilience to Cyber-Enabled Threats”

In October, an EU-conference on the highest political level took place in Brussels. Besides representatives of the EU-commission, members of the EU-parliament, representatives of EU member states, NATO representatives, NGOs, as well as researchers were invited. Many European projects, which are engaged with topics like disinformation and manipulation of societies, were introduced, as their progress and…

Continue Reading

Prof. Dr. Quandt in an interview with a Swiss newspaper talking about the employment of bots in elections.

Prof. Dr. Quandt was interviewed by Simone Luchetta for the Swiss newspaper “Tages-Anzeiger” as an expert on social networks. During the interview Prof.Dr. Quandt stressed, that the employment of Russian bots in the last German election was not as extensive as expected. Instead his most recent studies showed, that especially right-wing groups used social networks…

Continue Reading

Bedrohen Social Bots und Fake News die Demokratie? Das Propstop-Team informiert in der neusten POLITIKUM-Ausgabe über die Gefahren von Desinformation.

In der POLITIKUM- Ausgabe „Smart Democracy“ wird ein Überblick über Demokratie in Zeiten der Digitalisierung gegeben – Unterstützung erhielt sie dabei durch Prof. Dr. Thorsten Quandt, Dr. Lena Frischlich, Tim Schatto-Eckrodt und Svenja Boberg aus dem Propstop-Team. Im Zentrum des Artikels steht die Frage wie groß die Bedrohung, welche von Social Bots und Fake News…

Weiterlesen

High-level Konferenz zum Thema „Wahlinterferenz im digitalen Zeitalter: Widerstandsfähigkeit gegen Cyber-aktivierte Bedrohungen aufbauen“

In Brüssel fand im Oktober eine EU-Konferenz auf höchster politischer Ebene mit Vertretern der EU-Kommission, Mitgliedern des EU-Parlaments, Vertretern von EU-Mitgliedstaaten, NATO-Repräsentanten, NGOs sowie Forschern statt. Zentrales Thema der Konferenz war die Bedrohung von Wahlen und Gesellschaft durch Desinformation und Manipulation. In diesem Kontext wurden einige der neuesten Technologien, Werkzeuge und Erkenntnisse im Bereich der…

Weiterlesen

Prof. Dr. Quandt im Interview mit Schweizer Zeitung über den Einsatz von Bots bei Wahlen.

Professor Dr. Quandt wurde von Simone Luchetta für die Schweizer Tageszeitung „Tages-Anzeiger“ als Experte für soziale Netzwerke befragt. Im Interview hebt Prof. Dr. Quandt hervor, dass der Einsatz von russischen Bots bei den deutschen Wahlen nicht so großflächig war wie befürchtet, stattdessen zeige seine aktuelle Forschung, dass vor allem rechte Gruppierungen die sozialen Netzwerke nutzen,…

Weiterlesen